My 10-day sugar-free detox: Days 3 & 4 – what a waist

Five days into her sugar-free detox, Louise is losing inches …
and finding inspiration in a TV favourite 

 

In the States, abdominal obesity in women is defined as a waist size larger than 34.65 ins, for men 40.16 ins.

In the UK, you are defined at being at risk from chronic diseases at 31.5 ins (women) and 37 ins (men). High risk for both is, respectively, 34.5 ins and 40 ins.

On the morning of day 3 of cutting out all sugars from my diet, I am astonished to discover I have lost 2 3/4 ins  from my waist. A little over 48 hours to seriously cut my risk of heart disease and diabetes, to name a few.

In the headlines this week was the store J. Crew, a Michelle Obama favourite and recent addition to Oxford Street, with its decision to stock clothes in size 000.

That’s XXXS to me and you.

When I lived in NY, I wore an American size 2, so I’m officially obese in their eyes. Vanity sizing gone crazy? In a word, yes.

To qualify for the right to wear this size, you’d need a 23 ins waist. My very slender daughter, aged six and a half, has a waist of 21 ins. So, aspire to have a body like an eight-year-old? In light of all the scandals engulfing the British establishment at the moment, no thanks.

I feel good. I sail through a spin class and come home, open a cupboard to get some tea out and find myself half an hour later in the midst of a frenzied clear out.

I discover pulses I didn’t know I had, a pack to make Vietnamese spring rolls I’d long forgotten and eight different types of tea. I stick the caffeinated ones at the back and resolve to love chamomile one day.

My kids have discovered a love of omelettes, which casts me as Gwen from Gavin and Stacey – how lush.

Also pistachios, which Alice devours in handfuls. “I’m mad for them, mum,” she says. Awesome.

My sleep continues to improve – I think it’s as uninterrupted as can be expected with a two-and-a-half-year-old in the house. My skin feels a little dry but clear, so I may have to up the fat intake in my diet (hello cashew nut butter!).

I’m never hungry on the diet and, more importantly, I feel satiated when I eat and for several hours after.

What I’m planning to work on this weekend is more exercise, trying recipes from the book and a large ironing.

Some things will never change.

Leave a Reply

